The Chess players of the ancient city of Ibadan were agog on the 10th of July 2021. The event being the Maiden Awesome Rapid Chess Tournament FIDE Rated by Awesome Chess Academy, a five-star chess institute committed to building an ideal community by empowering the mind of young and old in a safe and cozy environment using chess as the tool. Having 3 main arms;

  • The Awesome Chess Club
  • The Awesome Chess Academy
  • The Awesome Chess Enterprise

A total number of Thirty-Two (32) participants attended from Lagos, Benin, Ogbomoso, Ife, Oyo, and Ibadan – 29 males and 3 females. The popular names are Akinseye Oladotun, Okonkwo Ifeanyi, Ogunsiku Babatunde, Matan Adebayo, Dikeocha Oluchi, and some Veterans like Ayodeji Henry Ayodeji and Akinseye Olawole. The Chief Arbiter for the tournament was FA Boyo Paul Kehinde.

The 7-rounds rapid chess tournament with 10+15sec time control was eventful as Muftau Waris caused an upset by winning a veteran. Akinseye Oladotun eventually topped the table at the end of round 7 with six points and went home with the star prize of Thirty Thousand Naira (#30,000). Olaniran Oluwatosin came second with 5.5 points and Akande Temitope, Matan Adebayo Oludayo, Evbuomwan Efosa, Okonkwo Ifeanyi all had 5 points and shared third place. Chukura Adanwankaego and Dikeocha Oluchi shared first female position with 3 points each out of seven, Muftau Waris came first with 4 points and Sambo Joseph came second with 3 points in the Junior category.

A total of One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira (#150,000) cash prize was distributed among the winners.

A big thank you to all our sponsors; Mr. Olu Babatunde, Mr. Akinseye Olawole, Dr. Ogunbayo Iredele, VineMobile Networks, Steksons Eye Centre Ijebu Ode, Ellan Preschool Ijebu Ode, MJM Boutique Inc, Awesome Niche, Hi-FAQ Limited, Mizpeh Gas Limited, i2e Autocare and Cowrium International Limited.


12Akinseye OladotunNGR20996,00,0530,0
24Olaniran Oluwatosin EmmanuelNGR19785,50,0429,0
31Akande TemitopeNGR21375,00,0528,5
46Matan Adebayo OludayoNGR19155,00,0432,5
57Evbuomwan EfosaNGR17885,00,0430,0
63Okonkwo IfeanyiNGR20705,00,0424,5
727Olumayowa OluwasanjoNGR04,50,0428,0
88Salako ClintonNGR17674,50,0426,5
926Olomitutu Richard OluwatobiNGR04,50,0426,0
1010Awesome John AanuoluwapoNGR14244,50,0424,0
1129Oziegbe PromiseNGR04,00,0425,0
1223Muftau WarisNGR04,00,0421,5
1332Soliu WasiuNGR04,00,0420,5
1413Akinseye Olawole AkintadeNGR04,00,0327,5
155Ogunsiku BabatundeNGR19573,50,0331,0
169Afolabi EmmanuelNGR15853,50,0329,0
1720Ejale Emmanuel OsobaseNGR03,50,0322,5
1816Ayodeji Henry AyodejiNGR03,00,0328,5
1918Chukura Adanwankaego OloladeNGR03,00,0326,0
2012Adeleke Ajibola RidwanNGR03,00,0326,0
2121Iheanyichukwu GodswillNGR03,00,0324,5
2225Olaniran Emmanuel OlamideNGR03,00,0322,5
2319Dikeocha OluchiNGR03,00,0321,0
2424Oguntuase Oluwatobi TranzNGR03,00,0321,0
2530Sambo JosephNGR03,00,0320,5
2628Opadijo Adeniyi FelixNGR03,00,0318,5
2717Carew Tolulope AyobamiNGR02,00,0219,5
2822Maduka Caleb ChinwenduNGR02,00,0217,0
2915Arabambi Sharon TinukeNGR02,00,0217,0
3031Siyanbade Oyebode AkandeNGR02,00,0121,0
3111Adedeji Ayodeji AdekunleNGR01,50,0125,0
3214Arabambi Adeboye EzekielNGR00,00,0018,0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here