The 2019 Russian Championships Superfinals Begins on the 9th of August in Udmurtia


The Superfinals of the 72nd Russian Championship and the 69th Russian Women’s Championship will be held in the Udmurt Republic on August 9-23. The Museum Estate of Pyotr Tchaikovsky will be the venue for the Superfinals in Votkinsk on August 9-12, while the International Friendship Centre in Izhevsk will host the event on August 13-23.

The opening ceremony will take place on the premises of the Museum Estate of Pyotr Tchaikovsky in Votkinsk. The organizers are the Russian Chess Federation, Elena and Gennady Timchenko Charitable Foundation, and the Government of the Udmurt Republic. The competition is also supported by Renault Russia Company, Federal Grid Company of Unified Energy System (Rosseti Group), and PhosAgro, the RCF’s partner since 2010. Logistics partner of the Russian Chess Federation is Russian Post.

The tournament is a part of the Chess in Museums program, carried out by the RCF together with Timchenko Foundation since 2012. The total prize fund is increased by 1 million rubles and amounts to 10,000,000 rubles. The guaranteed prize fund for the open event is 6,500,000 rubles and 3,500,000 rubles for the women’s tournament.  

Besides, the winners of the men’s and women’s tournaments are entitled to a brand-new coupe-crossover Renault ARKANA, which, according to the partnership agreement, has become the official car of the Russian Chess Federation in 2019. 

The events are 11-round all-play-all tournaments and match days are August 10-11, 13-17, and 19-22. Free days: August 12 and 18. The rounds start at 2 p.m. while the final 11th rounds begin at 12:00 p.m. (Moscow time). In case of a tie for the 1st place by two or more participants, an additional rapid competition is played to determine the winner.  

GM Sergey Shipov will be commenting the games in Russian, and doing same in English will be GMs Pavel Tregubov and Daniil Yuffa.

Line-up, men:

Vladislav Artemiev (2757), Nikita Vitiugov (2728), Maxim Matlakov (2710), Evgeny Tomashevsky (2706), Dmitry Jakovenko (2704), Ernesto Inarkiev (2682), Vladimir Fedoseev (2671), Kirill Alekseenko (2668), Alexander Motylev (2668), Aleksey Dreev (2662), Alexey Sarana (2655), and Alexandr Predke (2650).

Line-up, men: 

Aleksandra Goryachkina (2564), Alexandra Kosteniuk (2507), Valentina Gunina (2497), Alina Kashlinskaya (2491), Olga Girya (2462), Natalija Pogonina (2457), Anastasia Bodnaruk (2429), Polina Shuvalova (2419), Elena Tomilova (2376), Daria Charochkina (2352), Margarita Potapova (2335), and Zarina Shafigullina (2332).

Photos: Press service of the Museum Estate of Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Source: Official website of the Russian Chess Federation –


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here