Okeke, Okemakinde, Suleiman, Onoja are winners at DanhyPro U-20 Chess Tour Abuja Edition

Right to left—Okemakinde Toluwani (Silver) Mr. Josh Alli & Isaac Okeke (Gold)|Photo Credit: Ogunsiku Babatunde

One thing that we learned from the Danhypro U-20 Chess Tournament is that many of the Nigerian juniors are quite strong players and no one can be looked down on, all the players demonstrated this in the crucial 6th round of the tournament as everyone need good results not only to keep an eye on the prize lists, some play for good tournament performance.

Report by: Tolulope fasinu

Round six were filled with interesting games almost on all the boards, Eyetonghan Denyefa Callistus-2014 picked a win on board 18 against Abubakar Hassan after missing the fifth game due to late arrival for the round.

Onoja Iyefu Joy, Suleiman Azumi Ayisha, both won the sixth games to get ahead of the race for best female prizes while Jessica Tirnom Bello and Iguehi Elora Oise were slowed down.

Osadebe Michael Ikechukwu, Olisa Tennyson, Okemakinde Toluwanimi, and Okeke Daniel, were all on 4 points but won their games to catch up with CM Okeke Isaac who drew his match with Idara Emmanuel on board one.

In the seventh round, only two players were without a loss in the tournament namely; Okeke Issac-1728 and Okemakinde Toluwanimi-1975, but they sure aren’t winning all either, not with such level of competition going on. A field where the top 6 players all have 5 points, and the top 20 ranks are all 4 pointers as at round seven round of the nine rounds event.

Idara Emmanuel successfully took out Olisa Tennyson off the medal race in the 8th round, he was unable to consolidate in his last game against Okemakinde Toluwanimi in the last round because he ran out of time on his clock in the endgame play.

Round 9 pairings had Onoja Iyefu Joy paired on board two as white against Okeke Isaac, the same pairing of round 8 of DanhyPro U-20 Chess Tour Port Harcourt Edition.

As at this round, Onoja Iyefu Joy who has 6 points competes for more than just the ladies prize but a place on the top 10 ranks maybe top five if she wins the last game. Okeke Isaac was the opponent and also needs a win to secure himself the silver medal or maybe a chance at the gold. Iyefu lost the game by time flag but then, the 6 points were sufficient for her to win the BEST FEMALE Gold Medal by tie-break as Suleiman Azumi Ayisha-1726 also finished 6points after she was able to defeat Iguehi Elora Oise.

Even though Okemakinde and Isaac finished with no loss, and also played draw in their encounter, Toluwani had a lower performance rating due to the first-round game which he won by walkover. This ranks Isaac Okeke the champion’s trophy making him #1 by tie-break.

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
17Okeke IssacNGR17287,50,5653,0
22Okemakinde ToluwanimiNGR19757,50,5648,5
328Idara EmmanuelNGR07,01,0654,5
44Olisa TennysonNGR18537,00,0649,5
511Akinbodewa AdebayoNGR14796,51,0649,0
634Keyi Lucky MusaNGR06,50,0651,0
730Iheanacho EmmanuelNGR06,00,0647,5
88Suleiman Azumi AyishaNGR17266,00,0645,0
91Eyetonghan Denyefa CallistusNGR20146,00,0644,5
105Onoja Iyefu JoyNGR17686,00,0644,0
116Salako ClintonNGR17676,00,0643,0
1254Uchegbu DamiansonNGR06,00,0641,0
1347Osadebe Michael IkechukwuNGR06,00,0553,5
1413Abdullahi AdamuNGR05,50,0550,0
1512ACMIwuozor JohnNGR05,50,0548,0
163Matan Adebayo OludayoNGR19155,50,0548,0
1724Ekunke Odey GoodnessNGR05,50,0540,5
1860Iwuagwu Williams OnyedikachiNGR05,50,0537,5
1953Ferdinard Tersay JosephNGR05,00,0549,0
2039Okeke DanielNGR05,00,0548,5
2135Khalid AhmedNGR05,00,0548,0
2229Iguehi Elora OiseNGR05,00,0545,5
2316Adedapo JeremiahNGR05,00,0544,5
2432Jessica Tirnom BelloNGR05,00,0544,0
2510Afolabi EmmanuelNGR15855,00,0544,0
2631Isah AbubakarNGR05,00,0542,0
2757Yakubu Daniel JasonNGR05,00,0540,5
2861Iwuagwu Ayomide IfesinachiNGR05,00,0536,0
2937Ocheja Ojochoguwu EstherNGR05,00,0535,5
3015Abubakar HassanNGR05,00,0449,0
3148Raphael OrjiekweNGR05,00,0440,0
3223Ekunke Iyambe PerezNGR04,50,0442,0
3320Chinonso Chuks SamuelNGR04,50,0438,0
3426Gloria Ishaya KaruNGR04,50,0433,0
3533Jonathan TikoNGR04,00,0445,5
3652Suurshater GbertyohNGR04,00,0443,5
3758Yakubu EmmanuelNGR04,00,0440,5
3818Ahmad Sadiq MuazuNGR04,00,0440,0
3956Utange Kevin AondokatorNGR04,00,0440,0
4062Abdulmajeed ChadiNGR04,00,0438,5
4151Shekwolo DanielNGR04,00,0437,0
4219Bernice OnoriodeNGR04,00,0435,5
4341Okeke Prince NzubechukwuNGR04,00,0435,0
4446Orji NmesomachukwuNGR04,00,0434,5
4527Grace Okunola AjibolaNGR04,00,0433,5
4625Emmanuel SamuelNGR04,00,0431,0
4749Samad MohammedNGR03,50,0340,5
4814Abdulrazaq MuhammedNGR03,00,0340,0
4940Okeke Praise AkachukwuNGR03,00,0338,5
5036Mofiba OgunwumijuNGR03,00,0336,0
5121Edith IshayaNGR03,00,0334,5
5222Egwudah AnslemNGR03,00,0333,0
5350Samuel IsaacNGR03,00,0332,5
5443Olofu JesseNGR03,00,0331,0
5545Orji KosisochukwuNGR03,00,0328,0
5659Ziptaram AnyankahNGR03,00,0235,5
5763Precious AinsaNGR02,50,0238,0
5838Oha MichaelNGR02,00,0233,0
5955Oha EmmanuelNGR02,00,0126,5
6042Olofu EphraimNGR02,00,0126,0
6164Stephanie NwachukwuNGR01,51,0128,0
6217Jess EgwundahNGR01,50,0128,5
639Maxwell TitusNGR16810,00,0027,0
44Omesu Miracle ChinyereNGR00,00,0027,0

Tie Break1: Direct Encounter (The results of the players in the same point group)
Tie Break2: The greater number of victories (variable)
Tie Break3: Buchholz Tie-Breaks (variabel with parameter)

It was a great time for us during the live analysis broadcast, we had some of the best of Nigeria’s players join us to analyze such as Kikosem Igwubor—2101, Lapite Oluwadurotimi—2157, Olawale Peter Oyeleye, Oyakilomeh David, and Oyakilomeh Daniel, Ajayi Peter, Wole Soile we also had the presence of IM Daniel Anwuli and FM Fawole John Oyeyemi, Awesome Aanuoluwapo amongst others.

The closing ceremony started at 3:00pm on Sunday 25th April 2021. The award of prizes was an exciting one for everyone because the chief arbiter (Titoluwani Rapheal) made sure to fill the hall with smiles and laughter.

Special guests in attendance during the closing ceremony were: Anthony Ogor, Sema Davies, CM Job Atabor, Josh Ali, Miss Solace Mbilitem and Mr. Michael Benson

Special guests in attendance during the closing ceremony were: Mr. Anthony Ogor, Mr. Sema Davies, CM Job Atabor, Mr. Josh Ali, Solace Mbilitem and Michael Benson
Photo Credit: Ogunsiku Babatunde

After the medals and prizes were awarded, THE GO FOR WEST AFRICAN GRANDMASTER INITIATIVE sponsored a special awards segment to encourage some participants.

The first award was given to Ekunke Goodness for The Youngest Player with the best performance, along with a cash prize of N10,000.

An award of a PLAYER IN A CHESS TOURNAMENT FOR THE FIRST TIME with over 50% performance and a cash prize of N10,000 was also awarded to Khalid Ahmed who finished with 5points of 9games in his first tournament.

Mr. Josh Ali Presenting the Medal and Trophy to CM Isaac Okeke
Photo Credit: Ogunsiku Babatunde
Okemakinde Toluwani took the silver medal on tie-break
Photo Credit: Ogunsiku Babatunde
CM Job Atabor Presenting Bronze Medal to Idara Emmanuel
Photo Credit: Ogunsiku Babatunde

You can go through all games played on board one from round one to nine right here

The fun didn’t end there!

The tournament director (Ojikutu Samuel) decided it will be nice to have an open blitz competition for some fun. But guess what?

After 5 rounds, Okeke Isaac and Okemakinde Toluwanimi shared first again.

Report by: Tolulope fasinu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here