IM Balogun Oluwafemi and WFM Ogbiyoyo Perpetual Eloho are 2021 Nigeria Chess Champions


The 2021 Nigeria National Chess Championship ended on the 14th Nov 2021 with IM Balogun Oluwafemi and WFM Ogbiyoyo Perpetual Eloho as the winner in the MEN and WOMEN categories.

The event was a ten (10) man round-robin in both sections, and the total prize fund was 10 million naira, the equivalent of ($25,000).

For IM Balogun Oluwafemi, it was a case of adequate preparation meeting opportunity as he went unbeaten with famous wins against stiff rivals like IMs Odion Aikhoje, Daniel Anwuli, Isaac Okeke, and FMs, Abiola Akinseye, and Oragwu Chukwunonso with a rating performance of 2474 while gaining over 50. Come December 1, 2021, IM Balogun Oluwafemi would be ranked #1 on the Nigeria FIDE Rating list, with an estimated rating of —2306.

IM Balogun Oluwafemi—2021 Nigeria Chess Champion (MEN)

The second place goes to the ever-improving FM Osunfuyi Abimbola, who over the years has shown himself worthy of the top niche in the chess industry in Nigeria. FMs Oragwu Chukwunonso and Abdulrahman Abdulraheem Akintoye finished 3rd and 4th respectively on tie break as they ended up on the same point.

WFM Ogbiyoyo Perpetual Eloho never ceases to perform at all levels of the game online and OTB. It took her six wins, and two draws to edge the third-placed Enomah Emmanuella Trust out with just a half-point. Her only loss came at the hands of a former National female champion, Ofowino Toritsemuwa. The latter ended the tournament as the first runner-up, while Enomah Emannuella Trust came 3rd, losing surprisingly to Top seed Pelomoh Jessica in round 7.

WFM Ogbiyoyo Perpetual Eloho—2021 Nigeria Chess Champion (WOMEN)

The Masters and the Opens Sections saw the re-emergence of two consistent players as the overall winners. Tosin Akinwamide (Lagos) ended with five (5) wins and (2) draws to clinch the N250,000 naira top prize and trophy. He will be further rewarded with an Elo gain of 32 points!

BruvsChess Media Editor in Chief played in the Master’s Category, showing some class by scoring spectacular wins with the Saragoza opening against Sasha Winton Onyia and Akomaka Apollos in rounds 2 and 4. He finished with 3.5 out of 7.

Meanwhile the retired, but not tired Asingbi Douye of Bayelsa State triumphed on tiebreaks over the best of Juniors; Oyelabi Jonathan, Clinton Salako, and Uba Efe. They all ended with 6pts apiece.

In the Opens category, the best female prize goes to Abdussalam Madiyyah Kehinde (11th position) and Peace Sampson (18th) position.

At the same time, Elora Iguehi and Treasure Nzeako, and Mayomi Oyelese tied for the 3rd position.

In the blitz event, International Master Aikhoje Odion showed exceptional abilities and won the event convincingly with 9.5/11.

IM Aikhoje Odion—2021 Nigeria Blitz Chess Champion with Mr. Jonathan Odega—Director, Orchid Hotels and Suites

FM Oragwu Chukwunonso came 2nd with 8.5/11 and IM Elect—Ajibola Olanrewaju shared 3rd place with FM Osunfuyi Abimbola, both finished with 7.5/11.

In the Junior section
Under 10
Master Nwankwo Victor did a Caruana by winning all his 6 games to come clear first. And a five-way tie for 2nd place followed with the players: Jain Vyom, Kasera Samridde, Ajayi Jean, Nasir Farouq and Miss Nwankwo Michelle occupying the 2nd to 6th position after tie breaks.

Under 14 category saw the emergence of Master Nyioma Tersee Ferdinand also winning all his games with both colours in style to edge his closest rivals. A 3 way tie ensued for the 2nd to 4th place between Innocent Marvelous, Godwin Sunday and Obasi Emmanuel with 5/6 each. The fifth place goes to the young warrior who have been with Bruvschess Media for a while, Master Ekunke Goodness with 4.5/6.

The top category in the Junior section keenly contested and was jointly won by 4 players viz: Peter Oluwafemi Samuel, sensational Olisa Tennyson, Job Tobiloba and Eyetonghan Callistus. They all ended with 5 points apiece while Peter Samuel was crowned the Champion on tie break points.

Find links to final rankings of all categories below:

National Chess Championship MEN

National Chess Championship WOMEN

National Chess Championship MASTER

National Chess Championship OPEN

National Chess Championship U-20

National Chess Championship U-14

National Chess Championship U-10

BruvsChess Media congratulates the newly crowned champions.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here