Bayelsa Chess News


Report on November edition of BYSCA monthly chess championship on the 14th of November 2020

1. A total of 73 participants played it out at the Sampson Siasia stadium in Yenagoa, the capital city of Bayelsa state.

2. Though it was an open event, players were categorized separately based on their ratings and the categories were as follows;

 a. Junior under 20 boys and girls.

 b. Opens

 c. Female

 d. Elite and

 e. Veteran

3. At the end of 9rounds of energetic play, winners emerged from 4 categories according to how they fared. The winners in the respective categories are as follows;

 Junior under-20;

1st position – Tennyson Olisa-7points (Delta state)

2nd position –Eyetongha Callistus points (Delta)

3rd position – Kere Alagoa 6points (Bayelsa state)


1st position – Bibowei Lambert 6.5points (Bayelsa)

2nd position – Miedo Denenu 6.5 points (Bayelsa)

3rd position – Christopher Cole 6points (Rivers)


1st position – Perpetual Ogbiyoyo points (Oyo)

2nd position –Rachael Dappa 5points (Bayelsa)

3rd position – Deborah Quickpen(8years old) 4.5points(Bayelsa)


1st position – Kigigha Bomo 8.5points (Bayelsa)

2nd position – Emmanuel Nwalla 7points (Rivers)

3rd position –Abimbola Osunfuyi 7points (Oyo)

The veterans’ category had a separate event with differing time control and number of rounds. After 4 rounds, round-robin with 3mins blitz showdown, winners that emerged are;

1st position – Sir Braveman Wodi

2 position – Mr Tarila Dudiefa

3rd position – Engr Austin E

The closing ceremony was well attended by chess-lovers, parents of our juniors and important personalities such as the permanent secretaries of ministry youth and sports Chief Patimidi Tukuru and the ministry of youth Mrs Ruth Ouserigha Etebo and the director of sports, Bayelsa state sports council, Sir, Braveman Wodi.

All winners were paid completely in cash and participants from outside Bayelsa departed and have arrived their destinations safely as at today the 15th of November 2020.

A big thanks to our esteemed sponsors and partners;

1. Danhypro services limited(partner)

2. Miebi Dudiefa (major sponsor and patron)

3. Engr Emmanuel Opigo (sponsor and patron)

4. Sir Braveman Wodi (Diretor of sports and patron)

5. Hon. Daniel Igali (commissioner of youth and sports)

6. Chief Patimidi Tukuru (permanent Secretary, mins. Of youth and sports)

7. Mrs Ruth Ouserigha Etebo (permanent Secretary, mins of youth and sport -youth)

A warm appreciation to the technical team of the BYSCA

Kigigha Bomo, Dickson Dudiefa, Obele koko, Cynthia Maxwell, Douye Asingbi, Miedo Denenu, Sunny Eyenghe, and Daboye Benibo.

Reporting from Yenagoa….


Previous articleInterview with Titolee!!
Next articleMars Arcade Chess Tournament
Adesewa Oyewole is a lawyer and a content writer. She studied Law and graduated from the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University Ile- Ife. She later attended and finished from the Nigerian Law School, Kano campus, after which she was called to the Nigerian bar. Her passion for writing led her into content creation, which she has done professionally for over four years. Adesewa takes on freelance writing gigs, and she is a full-time Content Curator and Correspondent for BruvsChess Media.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here